Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Spoofing Me for Jesus? (Probably not.)

I keep getting messages from various places saying that they detected a virus in a message I tried to send to some user. Sometimes I recognize the recipient's address, sometimes not. The following message serves as a typical example:
Juno detected that an email message you sent to one or more Juno subscribers may have been infected with a virus. This potentially harmful message has not been delivered to the intended recipient(s) at Juno and both you and the intended recipient(s) at Juno are being notified.

Listed below is information about the potentially infected message:

From: kmo@c-realm.com
To: philkuo@juno.com
Sent: Wed, 1 Sep 2004 16:43:34 -0700
Subject: Re: Re: Re: Your document
Suspected Virus Name: WORM_NETSKY.D

Juno is serious about protecting users from harmful computer viruses. You can protect yourself and others from computer viruses by installing anti-virus software on your computer and checking for periodic updates as directed by the software manufacturer.


Juno Customer Care

I think someone is sending infected emails with a bogus return address, namely mine. Why do I suspect this? Because I use Hotmail exclusively. I don't use MS Outlook or any other mail-handling program that resides on my hard-drive. Any virus going out in my emails would need to have infected MicroSoft's Hotmail system.

The addresses to which the infected messages were sent do not appear in my list of Hotmail contacts. Some of the early recipients were people I knew from my days on the Church of Virus discussion list, so I'm guessing that the virus or virus author took my email address from the list archives. The CoV has been hit by hackers for Jesus in the past, so I suspect that my spoofer may be operating from a religious motivation.


( 3 comments — Leave a comment )
Sep. 2nd, 2004 10:17 am (UTC)
Netsky spoofs email addresses from the infected user's address book, so it just means someone who is infected has you in their address book.
Sep. 2nd, 2004 01:24 pm (UTC)
Yep, completely unintentional. It's happened to me with my Yahoo address, too.

Sep. 2nd, 2004 01:28 pm (UTC)
So this probably doesn't mark the return of Gabriel, hacker for Jesus, who assailed all the lucifer.com domains a few years back.
( 3 comments — Leave a comment )

Latest Month

August 2017


Page Summary

Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Ideacodes